What to Consider When Buying an Engagement Ring

What to Consider When Buying an Engagement Ring

- in Shopping
Comments Off on What to Consider When Buying an Engagement Ring

Buying an engagement ring is not something you want to get wrong – not only because it is likely to cost a lot, but it is going to symbolize your relationship, so the pressure is high.

There are four rules to consider when hunting for the perfect ring; the four Cs – cut, color, clarity and carat. Know your way around the four Cs and avoid the most common pitfalls when buying diamonds.

So now that you know why you’re buying an engagement ring made with a diamond, you can familiarize yourself with the “Four Cs” – All must be considered equally when comparing diamonds, but more than any other factor, according to Tiffany and Co, it’s how the diamond is cut that will determine its defining characteristic.

The Cut

This is the most defining characteristic of a diamond, so if you only remember one thing from this article make sure it is the following! Cut can make or break a diamond, as it is the only part of the stone that is open to human error, the rest is all down to nature. Quality cuts will enhance a diamond; bad ones will ruin its sparkle. The angle and size of the cut decrees the sparkle of the diamond, or “fire”, basically the part that will take your future fiancé’s breathe away. Of course, it also defines the shape, so do some research and make sure you have considered the shape you would like before diving in to a shop.

The Color

Diamond colors are graded from D to Z, with D as the most valuable and rare. White diamonds fall into the D category, and then the following categories hold a variety of subtly colored stones. Strongly colored diamonds have their own category entirely – these are called “fancies”.

The Clarity

Clarity pertains to how many inclusions and blemishes a diamond has, when inspected under a 10x microscope. To the naked eye, many of these flaws are not noticeable above a certain grade. Diamonds are graded on the below scale:

Clarity Grade Visibility at 10× Magnification
Flawless (FL) No inclusions and no blemishes visible at 10× magnification
Internally Flawless (IF) No inclusions and only insignificant blemishes visible at 10× magnification
Very Very Slightly included (VVS1 and VVS2) Minute inclusions that range from extremely difficult (VVS1) to very difficult (VVS2) to see at 10× magnification
Very Slightly included (VS1 and VS2 ) Minor inclusions that range from difficult (VS1) to somewhat easy (VS2) to see at 10× magnification
Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2) Noticeable inclusions that are easy (SI1) or very easy (SI2) to see at 10× magnification but usually are not eye visible
Included (I1, I2 and I3) Obvious inclusions visible at 10× magnification – and often seen with the unaided eye

Flaws on diamonds graded Slightly Included and above probably won’t be visible to the naked eye.

The Carat

Carat means the weight and size of the diamond.  A single carat is equal to 0.2gm, or 200mgm, and is made up of 100 ‘points’. The average -ring diamond is somewhere between one carat and half a carat.

If you understand these 4 principles, you will know what you are buying and can make an informed choice. For more tips and advice please visit: https://www.whiteflash.com/about-diamonds/tips-and-advice/top-12-engagement-ring-designers-1515.htm

You may also like

Trading regulations helps to improve performance

If you want to become a pro trader